Bihar polls: Tejashwi proclaims Grand Alliance’s seat-sharing deal, Congress to contest from 70 seats

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |

Updated: October 3, 2020 6:17:50 pm

bihar assembly elections 2020, bihar election opposition alliance, opposition seat sharing, rjd, nitish kumar, aimim, kishanganj, bihar election newsRJD chief Tejashwi Prasad Yadav. (File)

Ahead of the state Assembly elections later this month, the RJD-led opposition grand alliance in Bihar arrived at a seat-sharing deal, RJD chief and the celebration’s chief ministerial candidate Tejashwi Yadav introduced Saturday.

The RJD will contest on 144 seats, whereas the Congress has been provided 70 seats and three Left events have been allotted 29 seats. The CPI will contest on six seats, the CPI(M) on 4, and the CPI(ML), which has three MLAs within the present House, is about to contest 19 seats.

The RJD that can contest 144 seats has left half-a-dozen seats to Mukesh Sahni’s Vikas-sheel Insaan Party (VIP). Two seats might be given to the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). The RJD has 81 seats within the current Assembly.

“All parts of UPA have determined to come back collectively as coalition for the Bihar Assembly elections. Congress, RJD, CPI, CPM & Vikassheel Insaan Party shall be a part of this alliance below management of RJD. We need Bihar to prosper below Tejashwi Yadav,” the Congress mentioned after the announcement.

The seat-sharing train gained tempo after RJD supremo Lalu Prasad’s emissary Bhola Yadav returned to Patna
from Ranchi on Thursday along with his message on the distribution of seats amongst totally different companions.

On Friday, CPI(ML) common secretary Dipankar Bhattacharya and the celebration’s Bihar unit secretary, Kunal, met RJD chief Tejashwi Prasad Yadav to debate seat-sharing particulars. The Left celebration was looking for 20 seats. Earlier, the RJD had provided it 15 seats.

The NDA is but to come back out with the seat-sharing method due to onerous bargaining by Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). The LJP has referred to as a gathering of its Parliamentary board on Saturday to resolve its subsequent plan of action.

Meanwhile, the BSP which is a part of a three-party alliance headed by Upendra Kushwaha of RLSP, suffered a setback when its state unit president Bharat Bind stop and joined the RJD.

After being spurned by the NDA and discarded by the RJD-helmed mahagathbandhan, Kushwaha has solid an alliance with the BSP and a non-descript Janatantrik Party (Socialist) for the Bihar elections. BSP supremo Mayawati has additionally introduced that her celebration could be supporting Kushwaha because the “Chief Ministerial” candidate.

The Bihar meeting elections could be held in three phases on October 28, November Three and November 7, with the counting day on November 10.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent India News, obtain Indian Express App.

© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here