BJP MLA strikes HC for disqualification of 6 BSP legislators who shifted to Congress

Written by Deep Mukherjee
| Jaipur |

Published: July 25, 2020 2:38:32 am

Madan Dilawar, bsp mlas join congress, rajasthan bjp, rajasthan political crisis, bsp mlas rajasthan   Madan Dilawar (Source: Facebook/Madan Dilawar)

BJP MLA Madan Dilawar has filed a petition within the Rajasthan High Court, difficult the merger of six Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) legislators into the Congress final yr, which took the occasion’s energy to 107 within the 200-member Assembly.

In the petition, the listening to of which is scheduled to happen on Monday, one of many prayers is the disqualification of those MLAs from membership of the Assembly with impact from September 2019.

“In March this yr, I had submitted a written attraction to the Speaker of the Rajasthan Assembly, saying that the merger of BSP MLAs within the Congress is unconstitutional. But even after 4 months have handed, he didn’t hear my petition. As a end result, I needed to transfer the High Court as a result of I had no alternative left. (I’m) requesting the court docket to declare this merger fallacious and ineffective,” mentioned Dilawar, MLA from Ramganjmandi in Kota district.

In September final yr, six BSP MLAs Deepchand, Sandeep Kumar, Joginder Singh Awana, Wajib Ali, Rajendra Singh Gudha and Lakhan Singh — met Speaker C P Joshi and submitted an utility for his or her merger into the Congress. Thereafter, they grew to become part of the Congress.

Among the grounds cited in Dilawar’s petition is that the BSP remains to be a nationwide occasion and has not merged with the Congress on the Centre or the state stage and that the MLAs had “voluntarily given up the membership” of BSP by becoming a member of Congress. He has additionally raised the Speaker’s “inaction” within the matter.

It has additionally been cited that whereas the Speaker didn’t subject notices to the previous BSP MLAs in reference to the petition filed by Dilawar in March, he issued notices to different MLAs on July 14 this yr on a disqualification petition filed by Congress chief whip Mahesh Joshi.

Speaker Joshi has issued notices to former deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot and 18 MLAs loyal to him, following which they moved court docket.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent India News, obtain Indian Express App.

© The Indian Express (P) Ltd

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here